Floodplain Management

Floodplain Regulations

In accordance with FEMA and Montana DNRC regulations, Richland County has recently updated our Floodplain Regulations. This was done in conjunction with our updating floodplain mapping of the Yellowstone River corridor.

Richland County Floodplain Regulations - Richland County Resolution 2019-005

The associated updated documents from the Yellowstone River mapping update can be found here.

Richland County participates in FEMA's National Floodplain Insurance Program (NFIP) which allows all homeowners in Richland County to purchase flood insurance. As part of this program, we are required to implement certain flood management regulations in order to ensure that proper development within the floodplain is occurring and mitigate the overall effects that each particular development may have on neighboring properties.

Information Required to Determine if Floodplain Permit is Needed:

  • Subdivision name with lot and block number; or
  • Certificate of Survey number with Section, Township, and Range and a tract number, if one exists.

Floodplain Permitting & Helpful Links

Included below are several documents or links that may help in development within the regulated floodplain.

Joint Application for Proposed Work in Montana's Streams, Wetlands, Floodplains, and Other Water Bodies

Joint Application Instructions

FEMA Elevation Certificate

FEMA Property Information Form (used for various floodplain map revisions)

DNRC Stream Permitting (website link) 

DNRC Floodplain Management (website link)

FEMA Flood Map Service Center (website link)