About the Library


The Sidney-Richland County Public Library promotes the love of reading and the joy of discovery for persons of all ages, provides information and learning resources in a variety of formats for both education and leisure, and prepares our patrons for the challenges and opportunities in the lifelong quest for knowledge in the information age.


The Sidney-Richland County Public Library had its first home in the basement of the Yellowstone Mercantile building. Mrs. Earl Verco checked out the first book to the public in 1914. The ladies of the Sidney Women's Club formed a study club and from this group the idea was born to donate books and start a library. When the venture proved successful the group urged the City Council to take over the responsibility, which they did.

Through the years the library struggled with a very low budget. Eventually, the Women's Club again went into action and circulated a petition to make it a city-county library. This move was approved and it became the Sidney-Richland County Public Library, financed by city and county taxes. It is still financed in this manner.

The library has had several homes. The present building was completed in 1966. In the past, the library housed the Civil Defense rooms, a meeting room, and offices. The building is owned by Richland County.

In 1985, the commissioners realized the need for expansion and worked with the library and Montana State Library to apply for a LSCA building grant of $61,000, which was approved. Richland County supplied the matching funds for the addition that is now the front entry to the building.

An endowment fund has been established for contributions to the library. These gifts are tax deductible. For more information, please visit the Richland County Public Libraries Foundation.

Library Board of Trustees

The Library Board of Trustees meets once a month to govern and direct the Sidney-Richland County Library. If you would like to contact them, or get more information about their meetings so that you can share your input or attend, please contact, Kelly Reisig, Library Director.

Current Trustees

The current trustees are Terry Sivertson (Chair), Nancy Verschoot (Vice-Chair), Karen McNutt, Diana Miller, and AnnDee Taylor.